MHL: Only 4 teams eligible

Though no official entry list has been released by the national body for the 2021 Malaysian Hockey League, it is believed that eight teams have signed up as of the closing date of November 19.

But will all the eight teams make it to the staring line come January 8?

Four of the eight teams are not affiliated to any state hockey association.

One of the regulation for entry to MHL since its was launched in 1987 was that the club must be properly constituted and registered with a state hockey body.

And with the enforcement of the Sports Development Act 1997, an additional clause was introduced that the clubs must be registered with the Sports Commissioners Office.

Checks revealed that Maybank, UniKL, Tenaga Nasional Berhad and TNB Thunderbolts are not affiliated to Kuala Lumpyr Hockey Association .

This means that they are not eligible going by the regulations to enter the MHL!

Three clubs – UniKL , Maybabk and TNB were registered with KLHA but lost their affiliation between 2024 to 2018.

It must be noted that TNB was never registered as they were never formally set up but ride under the Kilat Club registration.

Now with more then a month left, all the clubs could go back to seeking to re-ignite their affiliation with KLHA,

However there is one drawback though – KLHA has no President right now as the appeal by their suspended President Dato Seri Megat D. Shahiman for alleged breach of Clause 6 of the Code of Conduct is still pending .

And more importantly these three clubs need to be formally constituted and registered with the Sports Commissioners Office, a process that normally takes 6 weeks!

Only after that can they seek affiliation with KLHA.

There is no short cut if rules are to be adhered to, unless the “ close both eyes” policy is adopted as the case has been for the duration they participated.

So much for constructive criticism policy that is preached.

Rules are rules so really there are only four teams that qualify as TNB Thunderbolts is a second team from TNB.

So why was this criteria overlooked by the newly minted competitions committee?