Sabah champs of Division One

Sabah lift Division One IGP Cup!

Kuantan (4 July, 2018): It was another historic moment for Sabah as they clinched the Division One IGP Cup Hockey Tournament at the Wisma Belia Hockey Stadium in Kuantan today.

Making a return to the tournament after a lapse of 22 years, Sabah defeated Terengganu 2-1 in penalty shootout after 1-1 draw in regulation time.

Their first moment of glory came when they advanced to the semi-finals stage, living up to their mission.

The East Malaysian police outfit will now compete in the Premier Division next year alongside the big guns while Terengganu remain in Division One.

“This is a glorious moment for us,” said an elated Sabah team manager Supt Nor Azizulkifl Mansor. “I wish to thank every member of the team for giving their best in the final. It was a very nerve-wrecking final and thank God we prevailed in the shootout.”

“I also take this opportunity to thank our top bosses for their guidance. They have been very supportive and now that we are champions we have a bigger responsibility next season in the Premier Division,” he added with a wryly smile.

Mohd Firdaus Abdul Ghani shot Sabah ahead with a 23rd minute penalty corner conversion and were well headed for victory but Terengganu earned a penalty corner in the last few seconds of the match which Mohd Ashraf Abdul Halim converted – pushing the match into a penalty shootout.

Norhashim Ahmad and Mohamed Ismail converted for Sabah whilst Ashraf was the only player who scored for Terengganu.

“We are deeply hurt by this defeat but nevertheless accept our fate. It was a great final. Looks looks like our mission to gain promotion failed,” said Sgt Othman Awang, the Terengganu manager.

Meanwhile, Briged Tenggara completed their journey in Division One of the IGP Cup 2018 with a third-place finish following a 3-0 victory over Briged Utara.

All three goals were scored in the second half. Mohd Khairul Anuar Ramly scored a brace in the 43rd and 56th minutes while Ahmad Nazri Senin added the third (55th minute).

Results – Final: Sabah 1 Terengganu 1 (Sabah win 2-1 in penalty shootout); 3-4th Placing: Briged Tenggara 3 Briged Utara 0.