6 teams confirm entry for Sultan of Johor Cup

Press Release

Sultan of Johor Cup

Six teams have confirmed participation in the 8th edition of the Sultan of Johor Cup 2018.

Organised by the Johor Hockey Association, the SOJC will be held at the Taman Daya Hockey Stadium from October 6 to October 13.

The six countries that have confirmed participation are defending champions Australia, Great Britain, Japan, India, New Zealand and Malaysia.

“ We are happy to receive early confirmations from these teams as participation in this tournament is much sought after internationally,” said JHA Deputy President and Organising Secretary Dato Manjit Majid Abdullah.

“ The week long tournament will feature some of the rising stars in world hockey and we hope fans from Johor and the surrounding states will make it a point to attend the matches.”

Since the first edition held in 2011, five teams have emerged victorious. India and Australia both are the two successful team having won the tournament twice, followed by Germany, Great Britain and Malaysia who have all won the tournament once.

Australia are the most recent champions, winning the 2017 tournament. Australia defeated Great Britain 2–0 in the final. India won the bronze medal by defeating Malaysia 4–0.

The Malaysian team is coached by former international Nor Saiful Zaini Nazifuddin and will begin their preparations with a six nation tournament in Belgium next month.

“ We hope to organise many other activities in conjunction with the tournament such as seminars, courses and coaching clinics,” added Manjit.

“ We are hopeful that sponsors will step forward to assist us in funding the tournament and seek support from the state government and its agencies which have always worked closely and assisted us in the past.”