Hanis to lead Johor

Press Release


TNB Razak Cup ( Ladies)

Hanis Nadia leads Johor charge

National tforward Hanis Nadia Onn will lead an 18-member Johor team for the 2nd TNB Tun Abdul Razak Cup Women’s Hockey Tournament from Nov 18-26 at the Kuala Lumpur Hockey Stadium.

The second edition of the Tun Razak Cup is hosted by Kuala Lumpur Hockey Association.

Johor coach, Lailin Abu Hassan, said Johor HA have requested the services of national senior team goalkeeper Farah Ayuni Yahya to beef the squad and are waiting for a response from the Royal Malaysian Police.

Farah is an inspector in the police force.

“We are confident of engaging Farah’s services and are waiting for a reply. Her presence in the team will be of great help in guiding the younger players, including goalkeeper Nurshakella (Mohamed Sari), a member of the Malaysia Games (SUKMA) squad,” said Lailin.

“This team comprise of almost 70 per cent players from the SUKMA squad. We have five seniors and two national team players. So we do have a relatively young team and determined to do our best in the tournament,” he added.

The five seniors who competed in the 2016 tournament are Norafiza Sulaiman, Marlia Mohamed, Noor Hayati Sirkam, Nurul Nadia Aziz and Fatin Nabilah Husna Mansor.

Johor are drawn in Group B with Armed Forces, Selangor and Malacca whilst in Group A are defending champions Pahang, Kuala Lumpur, Terengganu, Perak and debutant Indonesia.

The semi-finals will be held on Nov 24 and final on Nov 26. Pahang emerged champions last year by defeating Armed Forces 4-0 in the final. Johor finished in eighth position following a 2-1 defeat against Terengganu in the classification match.

Lailin, however, hopes the team will perform better than last year when they open their campaign against Armed Forces on Saturday (Nov 18).

“There is no doubt that we will face very strong opposition from all the teams. All we need is to play good hockey and move forward,” he added, “

Johor Squad – Farah Ayuni Yahya, Nurshakella Mohamed Sari, Hanis Nadia Onn, Norafiza Sulaiman, Marlia Mohamed, Noor Hayati Sirkam, Nurul Nadia Aziz, Fatin Nabilah Husna Mansor, Nur Ismi Syazwani Mohd Isa, Eza Suryani Musa, Nur Fatihah Aqilah Azmi, Nurin Natasha Rohani, Nur Anisa Kartika Abd Rahman, Anis Humaira Saiful Nizam, Nur Ain Saiful Hazmi, Siti Nur Atikah Abu Hanifah, Aina Zafifah Mohd Razali, Rabiatuladawiah Arifin, Siti Nur Syahirah Muhammad.

Manager: Nor Azizah Ismail

Assistant Manager: Muhamad Ifzul Hayat Ahman

Coach: Lailin Abu Hassan

Assistant Coach: Kamaruddin Misman.