OCM Hall of Fame: Will the 1982 Asian Games Women Team be inducted?

They won the Asian Games Bronze Medal in 1982.

The women’s hockey team delivered an unexpected bronze at the Shivaji Hockey Stadium New Delhi.

It was no mean feat for the Malaysian women’s Hockey team to achieve.

For far too long they were under the shadows of their more illustrious men’s counterparts.

It was a round robin competition with India, South Korea, Japan, Singapore, Hong Kong and Malaysia competing.

The Malaysian girls started their campaign with a 1-1 draw against South Korea and followed up with a 3-0 win over Hong Kong on 21st November 1982.

This was followed by 1-0 win over arch rivals Singapore the next day.

Having lost 0-4 to India on 24th November, a gritty performance gave them a crucial 2– 1 win over Japan.

They finished third in the standings, tied on points with silver medalist Korea but in an inferior goal difference.

Todate it marks as the best ever achievement by a women’s hockey team internationally.

Yet they have not been inducted into the Olympic Council of Malaysia Hall of Fane.

Though some players individually have been accorded the honour, the team as a whole has been shunned.

Efforts to get them inducted seem to have met with a block by certain quarters,

And during the book launch of the late Daphene Boudville, the entire team was present at the Olympic Sports Museum.

They are deserving cases to be accorded the honour and hopefully will get that overdue recognition when the OCM Annual Dinner is held on December 19.

More fittingly as the King will be the guest of honour and we all know his passion for Hockey.

So hopefully someone in OCM will do the right thing to induct this team as it’s been almost 37 years since their gallant display,

The squad:

Norizan Abdul Majid, Asma Amin, Daphene Boudville, Christina Chin, Goh Joo Paik, Elizabeth Gomez, Mary Lim, Lum Sau Fong , Maheswari Kanniah, Rawiyah Rawi, Norlaila Senawi, Mary Soo, Teh Siew Bee, Halimaton Yaacob, Liew Seok Ann, Yuen Lai Hen.