Pulapol lift IGP Cup

Pulapol KL dethrone Bukit Aman in final

Kuantan (4 July, 2018): Pulapol Kuala Lumpur triumphed 2-1 over defending champions Bukit Aman to capture the Premier Division of the IGP Cup Hockey Tournament for the second time in three years at the Wisma Belia Hockey Stadium in Kuantan today.

Pulapol KL last lifted the title in 2016 following a 7-2 victory over Bukit Aman at the same venue.

The final today was graced by Bukit Aman Director of Management, Commisioner of Police Dato’ Sri Abdul Ghafar Rajab.

The other top brass at the stadium included Pahang Chief Police Officer Dato’ Sri Rosli Ab Rahman, Briged Tenggara Commander SAC Dato’ Roslan Bek Ahmad, DCP Dato’ Mohd Shuhaily Mohd Zain, who is the Deputy Director E1 (M) and convenor of the Royal Malaysian Police Hockey and Dato’ Dr Emmanuel Benson, Chairman and Group Chief Executive Officer of Smart Trends International – the ‘PDRM Partners in Hockey’.

The match got off to a fast and furious pace. It was a test of character between Bukit Aman and Pulapol KL who had individual quality with the services of several former internationals and former state Razak Cup players.

Bukit Aman, however, adapted well to the pressure and went 1-0 up in the fifth minute, courtesy of a penalty corner conversion by Megat Azrafiq Megat Termizi.

Pulapol KL, led by team captain and former international Baljit Singh, clawed back to equalise in the 29th minute through Dick Cheny Waill’s field goal before Baljit extended the lead 2-1 via a penalty stroke conversion in the 50th minute.

Bukit Aman refused to let defeat come in their way and mounted several counter-attacks only to be denied by excellent goalkeeping by Pulapol’s Muhammad Syair Mohd Syhalmiudaya in the closing stages of the fourth quarter.

But there was little they could do as the clock ticked away and Pulapol emerged champions once again.

Selangor, who lost to Bukit Aman in the semi-finals, finished in third position by posting a 4-3 victory over Johor in the playoff for third-fourth placing.

Johor went 2-0 up in the second quarter with goals from Jubiltone Dalit (9th minute) and Zulkifli Md Zain (11th) before Selangor went firing on all cyclinders to snatch a 4-2 lead with a brace from Faizal Reza Mohd Noor (26th and 33rd minutes) and Mohd Effairuzee Mohd Hamid (21st) and Mohd Shahrulnizam Hamdan (43rd minute) extended the lead.

Midfielder Ahmad Huzaifah Yunus added Johor’s third goal in the 52nd minute via a penalty corner conversion.

Results – Final: Pulapol Kuala Lumpur 2 Bukit Aman 1.

Third-Fourth Playoff: Selangor 4 Johor 3.

5-6th Playoff: Kuala Lumpur 4 Briged Tengah 2.

7-8th Playoff: Perak 6 Pahang 2.


Champions: Pulapol Kuala Lumpur

Runner-up: Bukit Aman

Third: Selangor

Best Player: Mohd Fikri Mat Kassim (Bukit Aman)

Best Goalkeeper: Insp Saifulnizam Mohamed Jais (Joh)

Top Scorer: Insp Baljit Singh (12 goals- Pulapol KL)

Fairplay: Selangor


Champions: Sabah

Runner-up: Terengganu

Third: Briged Tenggara

Best Player: Mohd Firdaus Abdul Ghani

Top scorer: Azrul Hisham Zahari (7 goals – Terengganu)

Best Goalkeeper: Izwan Affendi Selamat (N. Sembilan).

Fairplay: Perlis