UniKL look set to be favourites, THT and TNB could surprise

A total of 20 foreign players will feature in the Malaysian Hockey League that commences in January 3,

Two teams. UniKL and Terengganu Hockey Team have signed six players each while both UiTM and Nur Insafi have four foreign players in their registered list.

UniKL have retained keeper David Harte ( Ireland) , midfielder Timothy Deavin ( Australia) and Keiren Govers ( Australia) who featured in their overall title winning squad last season.

They have signed midfielder Valentin Verga who donned THT colours two seasons ago.

It is their new signings, Martijn Havenga and

Robert Kemperman that will make other teams sit up and take notice.

The two Dutch internationals have been outstanding in international Hockey and will be considered as key players in the hopes of UniKL to wrest all three titles at stake.

THT have registered a Welsh player Daniel Kyriakides.

He represented Wales in the 2014 Commonwealth Games & 2018 Commonwealth games.

Another new signing is Gonzalo Merino from Argentina

The rest of the foreigners registered by THT have played for them in the past, amongst whom are Pablo Xavier Travisan ( Argentina)

Jung Man Jae ( Korea),

Ahmad Shakeel Butt ( Pakistan) and

Jang Jong Hyun ( Korea) .

But while these teams are counting on their foreign players to help win titles, it is the 10 national players powered Tenaga Nasional Berhad that could well emerge as the team to beat.

The 10 players are Syed Shafiq Syed Cholan , Shahril Saabah, Faiz Helmi Jali, Ramadhan Rosli, Nik Aiman Nik Rozemi, Syed Aideed, Shafiq Sumantri, S. Kumar , Firhan Ashaari and Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin Tg Jalil.


David Harte

Martijn Havenga

Valentin Verga

Timothy Deavin

Robert Kemperman

Kieren Govers

Terengganu HT

Daniel Kyriakides

Pablo Xavier Travisan

Jung Man Jae

Gonzalo Merino

Ahmad Shakeel Butt

Jang Jong Hyun


Abdul Asim Khan

Imran Abbas

Khasif Javed

Waseem Ahmad


Farhad Ahmed Shetul

Rashel Mahmud

Fukuda Kentaro

Rajendra Muni Krishna